• Video
  • Shop
  • Culture
  • Family
  • Wellness
  • Food
  • Living
  • Style
  • Travel
  • News
  • Book Club
  • Newsletter
  • Privacy Policy
  • Your US State Privacy Rights
  • Children's Online Privacy Policy
  • Interest-Based Ads
  • Terms of Use
  • Do Not Sell My Info
  • Contact Us
  • Recalls and Product Safety Alerts
  • © 2026 ABC News
  • News

What Really Happens to Your Deleted Internet Messages and Photos

NaN:NaN
Deleting 'Snaps' Doesn't Make Them Disappear
Getty Images
ByRHEANA MURRAY
May 09, 2014, 4:54 PM

May 9, 2014— -- You send a private photo to a friend who views it for a few seconds before it disappears forever, right?

Wrong!

Even after Snapchat admitted photos sent using the popular app don’t evaporate into the ether after all, experts say users still don’t grasp how difficult is it to entirely erase something from the Internet.

Snapchat Settles With FTC Over Claims it Deceived Users

"It looks like it's gone," security expert Nico Sell told ABC News. "If you don't understand the underlying technology of the Internet, and aren't thinking about what is going on behind the scenes, it looks like it disappeared."

But most of the time, your "deleted" Instagram snaps or Facebook posts -- or possibly Snapchats -- are still lurking on a server somewhere, said Sell, founder of another private messaging app, Wickr.

"Even when something is deleted from a device or a computer, it doesn't completely delete," she explained. "Your SMS - if you were to delete a text, I could still get it off the phone. It's in the trash."

Snapchat agreed to settle charges by the Federal Trade Commission on Thursday that it deceived users about how private their photos really were. The company admitted that there were roundabout ways users could save a friend’s photo -- which is supposed to “self-destruct” about a few seconds -- by downloading third-party apps or taking screenshots.

The FTC also accused Snapchat of secretly collecting private information from users through its "Find Friends" feature, which accesses contact information.

Snapchat said it would be more forthcoming about privacy with users.

The company says it deletes "snaps" from its servers after the message is opened, but admits people can still take screenshots of messages.

When that happens, Snapchat sends the sender a notification.

Up Next in News—

Jury selection to begin in latest social media addiction trial against Meta

August 12, 2026

'I feel like I'm going to die': Nurse practitioner testifies about Lindsay Clancy messages

August 12, 2026

University of Michigan changes grade policy for some freshmen ahead of school year

August 11, 2026

Venomous snake found in high school football player's helmet

August 11, 2026

Shop GMA Favorites

ABC will receive a commission for purchases made through these links.

Sponsored Content by Taboola

The latest lifestyle and entertainment news and inspiration for how to live your best life - all from Good Morning America.
  • Contests
  • Terms of Use
  • Privacy Policy
  • Do Not Sell My Info
  • Children’s Online Privacy Policy
  • Advertise with us
  • Your US State Privacy Rights
  • Interest-Based Ads
  • About Nielsen Measurement
  • Press
  • Feedback
  • Shop FAQs
  • ABC News
  • ABC
  • All Videos
  • All Topics
  • Sitemap
  • Recalls and Product Safety Alerts

© 2026 ABC News
  • Privacy Policy— 
  • Your US State Privacy Rights— 
  • Children's Online Privacy Policy— 
  • Interest-Based Ads— 
  • Terms of Use— 
  • Do Not Sell My Info— 
  • Contact Us— 
  • Recalls and Product Safety Alerts— 

© 2026 ABC News